Weird popping sound on certain notes that I can't get rid of

praisethelamps

Momo's Minion
I’m working on a Sagawa Kiki cover of Literary Nonsense, but in just a few spots, there’s a weird popping sound that occurs. Here's a recording of what I'm talking about:

[Video]

(I use UTAU-Synth, but if you don’t have any UTAU-Synth specific advice about this, just tell me whatever you would tell an UTAU user experiencing this. A lot of the time, it’s still helpful to me!)

When I listen to them in the voicebank configuration settings, they all sound fine, no popping sound there. (Idk if that's relevant at all, but it's something I noticed, so I included that info just in case lol.)

Things I’ve tried adjusting to fix it (with zero success): ConVel, BRE, mod, gFlag, preutterance, overlap, P flag. There’s no vibrato on it, and I tried turning off the other flags I have on it, but the sound is still there.

Admittedly, I’m not the best with preutter, overlap, and flags (I am extremely new to this). However, I did assume that the problem could be solved with preutter and overlap settings, as a few similar weird sounds were fixed that way, so I did spend quite a while adjusting those.

Last edited:

YKKUN

Ruko's Ruffians
Defender of Defoko
Checked the vb, and for 'a こG4' its an frq issue as seen below.
a koG4 kiki frq pop.png

It's an easy fix, as well as a common problem in multi-pitch vbs( in my experience, since it's harder and more time-consuming to check every. single. sample. for minute problems like this )

But I can't see an obvious frq problem with 'o もG4'. I'm not familiar with USynth, so I'm not sure if that ancient problem of not being able to use various resamplers is still relevant( I'd hope not ), but either way I'll ask; What resampler are you using?

Reactions: Halo

praisethelamps

Momo's Minion
Checked the vb, and for 'a こG4' its an frq issue as seen below.
View attachment 12254