Requesting Advice for "Old" UTAU User

ali_cee

Momo's Minion
To preface this, I've been using UTAU since around 2012 (my first VB was CV with no oto.ini around that time, lol). I've been using OpenUTAU because it's a bit more intuitive and unfortunately due to visual issues becoming more functionally useful for me. The VB I'm using is CV from 2013 that I created, and I'm using it for sort of a personal project I guess? It's a bit hard to explain... (;´Д`)

Essentially, I'm running into the issue that the VB I recorded while tunable and not uh... completely terrible is missing some key recordings for certain songs. While this wouldn't be a problem I just... don't sound like that anymore... and can't emulate the voice that I used prior. I'm worried that the maturing of my voice will derail the project a bit, as it won't sound similar or close enough to be overlooked.

For Vocal Reference:
The Original VB in OpenUTAU with USTX I made & "tuned" (Not the best, but I was very tired) [This is part of the 'Project']
My actual/current voice. Speaking Japanese for at least some idea how it might sound? [Japanese was a Google Translation, may not be accurate.]

I was also looking into recording VCV because, I am now an adult, and can functionally understand how to do so. But I'm getting a bit confused because I'm seeing a lot of different reclists floating around. I think I've got one that I want to try to use (Single Reclist - No Nonsense Japanese VCV), but there are a few things I'm not familiar with. I don't recall using OREMO ever before (my original VBs were recorded using a mic & Audacity splitting/noise reduction), and I'm seeing that there's now automation for oto.ini files (which I've struggled to get operating properly even with ANSI conversion). It doesn't help that I'm trying to understand if there's a staple English VCV/Reclist (or if I should even bother/attempt it).