Xenforo & UtaForum Future Roadmap

Your Friendly Neighborhood Hentai Here to Give Community Updates.

So for those of you not in the know, UtaForum is powered by Xenoforo, a commercial message board script that we did a Kickstarter for and your Lifetime Membership upgrades has helped fund our renewals. I have kept a detailed log of all our donations and expenses thus far here.

You will note that though we have the funds for it, I have not renewed our Xenforo license this year. This is because we are on the Xenforo 1.X chain and Xenforo has since upgraded to Xenforo 2.X series of updates. This update was a major overhaul of the Xenforo systems and none of our current add-ons or skins would be supported if I were to update to 2.0.

You will also note that we haven't had much skin development over the last couple years. That is entirely on me, I went on hiatus to put my head down and finish college, so I was mostly checked out for a year or two. By the time I graduated Xenforo 2.0 was already in open beta and I saw the writing on the wall. Any development I put into custom skins would be thrown away upon 2.0 deployment. Thus I have been holding off skin development for a while.

Xenforo 2.0 eventually released in November of 2017, but we still have not updated. Beyond skins, addons were broken and every addon has to be rewritten for the new 2.0 system. From its earliest inception, we crowdfunded a lot of addons for UtaForum and they have been important in defining UtaForum "4.0". While a lot of addons are convenience features we could do without, I consider the Showcase, Resource Manager, and Chatbox to be core to the UtaForum experience and would not want to update without.

Roadmap for 2.0
Xenforo 2.0 Released, Fully Supported
Resource Manager for 2.0 Released, Fully Supported.
TaigaChat for 2.0 Not Planned. Alternatives Required.
- To be replaced by Chat 2 by Siropu or Discord Integration
Showcase for 2.0 in Closed Beta. Stable Release Unknown.