Did this help you at all?

• Mhm!

Votes: 6 100.0%
  • Nah

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Expus

Teto's Territory
Hia! It's only like my fifth day on this forum and I've literally done nothing to contribute. I really hope this hasn't been done before, but anyways I'm gonna do it. I'm more of an EDM producer myself, though I'm a total amateur, but I might as well share some of my information. To be honest, I feel an instrumental is one of the things that makes a song even better. I won't be talking much about UTAU and VOCALOID production here, but more about creating the instrumental for your next original. Most of this is just common knowledge, but yeah. First things first, let's talk DAWs.

DAWs (Digital Audio Workstations)
Most of you should know about DAWs anyways, but in case you don't, there's this. Alright, in my opinion, if you're making your instrumental electronically, you're going to need a daw. It's one of the most important things. The DAW is typically where you're going to sequence and put together everything, from every instrumental track to the final vocals

LMMS [Free - Mac, Windows]
LMMS is typically used for electronic music strictly, as it comes with a large variety of synths and it has a pretty big learning curve. Look up some tutorials online and they can show you how to get a good instrumental going in LMMS :wink:

Ohm Studio [Free for the free version - Mac, Windows]
Alright, this one is a pretty good DAW with not /too/ much of a learning curve. However, it relies on real time collaboration. From what I've seen, the free version doesn't have many built in synths, so you'll need to rely on VST Plugins for your synths.

GarageBand [Free - Mac, iOS]
This one isn't too bad. I own it, because I'm a strict mac user, however I don't use it much. It comes with a variety of built in instruments that are pretty high quality, but pretty much sample based, so not much customization, but it supports VST plugins so...